Rehearsal methods

Consider improving your efficiency by using The Pomodoro Technique. It is a simple, but effective way to organize your time with short, concentrated bursts of productivity, punctuated by five-minute rest periods. It takes the drudgery out of work by breaking tasks down into manageable chunks, and offers the promise of a reward after each section.

Check it out at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CT70iCaG0Gs, and see if you would like to try incorporating it into your rehearsal time.

Learn about the orchestra

Many people say they don’t like orchestral music, and yet instantly recognize The Barber of Seville from Bugs Bunny, or get excited when they hear the theme to Star Wars or Jurassic Park. The truth is orchestral music is like shopping in the produce section of the supermarket. There will be some stuff you like, some stuff you love and those weird green knobby vegetables you don’t recognize and don’t want to try. That’s fine! To help you become more familiar with orchestral music, check out these fun links:

http://www.classicsforkids.com/
http://www.artsalive.ca/
http://www.dsokids.com/
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=....

Okay, these next two are more academic and a little dry.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=...
http://www.zzounds.com/

Other ensembles and music organizations in Saskatoon:

University of Saskatchewan Music Ensembles http://artsandscience.usask.ca/music/
Saskatoon Symphony Orchestra http://saskatoonsymphony.org
The Amati Quartet http://www.amatiquartet.usask.ca/
Saskatoon Concert Band (and Auxiliary Band) http://www.saskatoonconcertband.ca
Saskatoon Philharmonic Orchestra http://www.saskatoonphilharmonicorchestra.com
Saskatoon Brass Band (and Bridge City Brass) http://www.rickcarlson.com/brass/
Saskatoon Community Bands http://www.saskatooncommunitybands.org/
Stone Frigate Big Band http://stonefrigate.com/
Saskatoon Jazz Orchestra http://saskatoonjazzorchestra.wordpress.com/
Saskatoon String Ensemble http://www.saskatoonstringensemble.com/
Saskatoon Lions Band http://www.saskatoonlionsband.org/
Saskatoon Children’s Choir http://www.saskatoonchildrenschoir.org/
Heart of the City Piano Program http://heartofthecity.ca/
Saskatchewan Orff Program http://saskorff.blogspot.ca/p/home-page.html
Saskatchewan Registered Music Teachers’ Association http://www.srmta.com/
The Bassment http://www.saskatoonjazzsociety.com/
Saskatchewan Orchestral Association http://www.saskorchestras.com/
The Saskatchewan Band Association http://saskband.org/
Saskatchewan Choral Federation http://www.saskchoral.ca/index.cfm
Saskatoon Suzuki Strings http://www.saskatoonsuzukistrings.ca/
Saskatchewan Music Educators Association http://elecqlx.sasktelwebhosting.com/smea/smea.html
Saskatchewan Music Festival Association http://www.smfa.ca/
Organization of Saskatchewan Arts Councils http://www.osac.ca
Music for Young Children http://www.myc.com/
Sistema Saskatoon http://www.sistemasaskatoon.ca/
Conductor School http://www.conductorschool.com/index.html
Saskatchewan Arts Board http://www.artsboard.sk.ca/
SaskMusic http://www.saskmusic.org/
Orchestras Canada http://orchestrascanada.org/